The Noah Project

Rebuilding a sustainable world.

Organic Farming Cont’d.

2 Comments

Here’s one more story and then I’ll let  it go for today.  This piece from PR Web relates a discussion held by impact investor and advocate of sustainable agriculture, Philippe van den Bossche, on the benefits of Mzee Benson Kinyua’s organic farming practices.

According to a July 25, 2013 article published on People’s Daily Online, entitled, “Feeding Kenya through organic farming,” Mzee Benson Kinyua, a local farmer in Rongai, Nakuru country in western Kenya, strategically selected his farm’s location to be covered by trees, away from the sun’s heat. He explains it was part of a conscious plan. “I depend solely on the environment for food, and so I have to protect it.” Kinyua practices organic farming, relying on “simple, low-cost, environmentally friendly agricultural techniques.”
Kinyua has been using organic farming practices, which prohibit the use of synthetic fertilizers and pesticides, since 2004 after undergoing training at the Kenya Institute of Organic Farming (KIOF).
His use of compost manure as a fertilizer alternative enriches the soil with key nutrients necessary for plant growth. He says, “This enables my farm to withstand erosion from intense floods and winds that previously destroyed my crops.”
Organic farming practices have also protected his family from the harmful effects of pesticides. Consumption of pesticides used in conventional farming can cause cancer, birth defects and damage to the nervous system. The International Labor Organization links pesticides to “more than 40,000 deaths yearly, affecting mostly children.”
Author: Daniela

I was born in Croatia, at that time Yugoslavia. My family moved to the US when I was very young, but I still treasure the memories of my grandfather teaching me how to protect myself against the "evil eye," my grandmother shopping early every morning, at the open air market, to buy the freshest vegetables for the day's meals, and the traditions that were the underpinnings of our society. Someone once noted that "For all of us that want to move forward, there are a very few that want to keep the old methods of production, traditions and crafts alive." I am a fellow traveler with those who value the old traditions and folk wisdom. I believe the knowledge they possess can contribute significantly to our efforts to build a more sustainable world; one that values the individual over the corporation, conservation over growth and happiness over wealth.

2 thoughts on “Organic Farming Cont’d.

  1. I endorse organic farming, farming without GMO products or contamination of said seeds.
    Hopefully more people will become more aware. Enjoyed your posts, and links. Keep em coming.

    • Thanks for the support. I wanted to start a blog about organic farming and the sustainability movement here in Wisconsin and in the process discovered it’s happening all over the world. I find it so uplifiting when I read articles about family farmers using organic methods to grow crops and livestock. I’m happy to share their stories. I’m hoping this movement will continue to grow and gain support so we stop degrading the environment and get to eat really healthy food in the process.

Leave a Reply

