The Noah Project

Rebuilding a sustainable world.

Folklore Mondays: Halloween Meltdown ’13 Edition (#1)

Leave a comment

The Angry Scholar

To kick off everyone’s favorite month of the year, here’s a short piece on the origins of the Halloween holiday by folklorist Jack Santino, of Bowling Green State University. (I know it’s a week late–you can blame the government shutdown for the delay, as the text I cite here is hosted by the Library of Congress and was inaccessible last week).

Santino also has a full article on the topic entitled “Halloween in America: Contemporary Customs and Performances,” which, alas, I can’t link to; but if you have access to JSTOR (try your public library) you can find it that way. He also has a book on Halloween. (I haven’t read these, but they promise to be excellent.) The full citation for both is below.

Meanwhile, here is Santino’s piece from the Library of Congress:

Halloween

The Fantasy and Folklore of All Hallows

Jack Santino

Halloween had its beginnings in an…

View original post 1,421 more words

Author: Daniela

I was born in Croatia, at that time Yugoslavia. My family moved to the US when I was very young, but I still treasure the memories of my grandfather teaching me how to protect myself against the "evil eye," my grandmother shopping early every morning, at the open air market, to buy the freshest vegetables for the day's meals, and the traditions that were the underpinnings of our society. Someone once noted that "For all of us that want to move forward, there are a very few that want to keep the old methods of production, traditions and crafts alive." I am a fellow traveler with those who value the old traditions and folk wisdom. I believe the knowledge they possess can contribute significantly to our efforts to build a more sustainable world; one that values the individual over the corporation, conservation over growth and happiness over wealth.

Leave a Reply

